WWOOF Latin America

volunteering on organic farms

Ecuador Preview

This is a PREVIEW of the Ecuador Farm List. It does not include farm names or contact information. If you are a member of WWOOF Ecuador, you can access the full list with contact information for the farms by clicking on "See FARM Lists" in the main menu and selecting ECUADOR. If you are a member and cannot access the list with the contact information, click on "Questions" in the "You need HELP?" tab of the main menu.

 

If you are not yet a member of WWOOF Ecuador, you can only see this preview. The following list is only a preview intended to give you an idea of the type of farms you will see in the Farm List as a member. This preview might not be up-to-date and might contain some inaccurate information.

 

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU024

Member since

 

Location

San Miguel de Sarampion , Calceta , Manabi

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

We have a lot of work like with the chickens, cows, plants, garden, building some cabañas and other stuff.

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

We have some cabañas for people to stay in. We also have a bandb house near to the farm with all the accomodations

Description

Everything we eat comes from the earth, vegetables, meat, milk etc. We don't use chemical products: we work with organic procedures. We have some cabañas for people to stay in. We also have a bandb house near to the farm with all the accomodations plus a huge garden and beautiful birds who always come and visit us. We have a lot of work like with the chickens, cows, plants, garden, building some cabañas and other stuff. We like people, especially foreigners!

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU019

Member since

 

Location

Andean mountains at 1200 to 1800 msnm. between Loja and Cuenca

Type of Farm

agriculture and archeology

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

As a volunteer you will have to help with a couple of farm tasks, but the main assignment of the volunteer will be working with the people at the community surrounding us.

Requirements

We specially welcome volunteers with studies in environmental sciences, biology, ecology, archeology, sustainable agriculture or sociology.

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

rustic house

Description

This farm is located in the Andean mountains at 1200 to 1800 msnm. between Loja and Cuenca. We are about to start a project which hold two important areas: agriculture and archeology. We are looking for volunteers to help us bring this project true. As a volunteer you will have to help with a couple of farm tasks, but the main assignment of the volunteer will be working with the people at the community surrounding us. You’ll live in a rustic house. We specially welcome volunteers with studies in environmental sciences, biology, ecology, archeology, sustainable agriculture or sociology. Here people speak Spanish and Quechua.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU018

Member since

 

Location

San Pedro de Vilcabamba

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

Coffee, apple, avocado, peach, banana, papaya, orange, lemon.

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

We have huge gardens to take care of for sale of organic vegies to Sunday local markets but our main interest is to reforest this buffer zone to the Podocarpus Natianal reserve with indegenous species. We plan to plant 10000 trees for birds and 10000 of various local species plus 8000 coffee plants now either on the ground or in seedling form. We have already planted and growing hundreds of apple, avocados, dozens of peaches, bananas, papayas, oranges, lemons. This ecological private project can be seen at our website.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU017

Member since

 

Location

at the foot of Volcan Tungurahua in the Andes Mountains

Type of Farm

Small organic farm/garden

Main Crops

fruits, flowers and medicinal plants

Need Help With

Help with weeding, watering, planting, composting, making and using non chemical pesticides, any special talents such as construction skills, artistry, permaculture knowledge will be welcome and specific projects may be initiated around them.

Requirements

pecial talents such as construction skills, artistry, permaculture knowledge will be welcome and specific projects may be initiated around them.

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

Small organic farm/garden (5000 sq. metres) focused on fruits, flowers and medicinal plants. Food harvested by volunteers - we have vegetables, root crops, fruit, herbs, teas and more. Food provided is only what is grown in the garden, there is a variety but you should come prepared to provide your own staples (rice, pasta, bread, cereal - store bought stuff) to supplement our home grown produce. Help with weeding, watering, planting, composting, making and using non chemical pesticides, any special talents such as construction skills, artistry, permaculture knowledge will be welcome and specific projects may be initiated around them. Carol speaks english, otherwise it is a Spanish immersion situation. We hope to learn as well as teach and are open to new ideas. Please write back at least once after your initial enquiry to advise as to whether or not you would like to come. There is space for 5, a private room for couples, laundry tubs for washing clothes, a communal kitchen and shared bath.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU016

Member since

 

Location

800 meters from the community of Awapungo, just outside the city of Tena, Napo Province

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

he farm is 20.8 hectares (51 acres) of primary forest and 12 hectares (30 acres) of secondary forest high on a hill overlooking the Misahuallí River valley. Out of love for nature and an interest in protecting the environment, in 2004 our Kichwa family started a program to collect and plant the seeds of plants in danger of extinction. We are preserving wood, fruit, ornamental and medicinal plants and their seeds that our ancestors used for centuries. We are also raising exotic plants that can serve as alternatives to over-exploited native plants. Our main goal is to reforest tropical fruits on our land and on neighboring farms by collecting, preserving and planting seeds. We are also growing our own food using indigenous permaculture techniques and raising tilapia

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU015

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

We host wwoofers with the intent of teaching the manera antigua, the old ways of farming in Ecuador. We are about living young, no too many rules (2) and play for work is the norm. Work is shared by all and must be FUN. We have 15 hctrs of organic communal farm and frutal, over 60 varieties of fruit, cafe, pineapples and more. Constant need for weeding and harvesting and creating new planting spaces. Need help to maintain good compost. Alternative building projects happening all the time. Plenty of spanish spoken, we will try to teach you. Tina is a local midwife. Lots of organic food, not much meat. Lg overly friendly dogs live with us, outdoors only, as well as cats, horses, goat. Work requirements are flexible. Solar power for music and light only. NO TV. Farm is truly in the forests, secondary lowland, so you may see wild animals, great for birdwatching. Oppurtunities for community service, ie help building communal structures, assist in local high school to help with english pronunciation (great way to learn more spanish), lots of contact with local pueblos. Peace!

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU013

Member since

 

Location

Isla Puna in the Gulf of Guayaquil

Type of Farm

Organic Shrimp Farm

Main Crops

Organic Shrimp

Need Help With

Work involves help with preparing ponds, testing shrimp crops and harvesting.

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

4 to 5

Number of work days per week

4

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

300 ha Organic Shrimp farm located about a 2 1/2 hr boat ride from mainland Guayaquil. Work involves help with preparing ponds, testing shrimp crops and harvesting. 16 years shrimp industry experience, organic since 1999. Life is rustic, although there is electricity and pumped fresh water. WWOOFers must be able to swim. Minimum stay is 3 weeks and we prefer at least a month. 4-5 hours work per day but Friday to Sunday will be free to explore Ecuador. Offices are located in Guayaquil. International arrivals are in the Jose Joaquin de Olmedo.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0112

Member since

09/08/10

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

Bannana, yucca, fruit trees

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

4 to 5

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

Camping

Description

20 hectares of forest, 10 of grasses and other crops.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0111

Member since

09/08/10

Location

The farm is located in Cahuasquí in the country Ecuador, in the province of Imbabura about 2 hours north and west of the main city of Ibarra. It is part of the canton of Urcuquí. Ibarra is located about 2.5 hours north of Quito. Traveling from Ibarra the bus will travel north and west through Urcuquí, Tumbabiro, y Pablo Arenas before reaching Cahuasquí.

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

The WWOOFers would be responsible for helping plant new crops, in addition to the crops that exist as well as tending to the crops that are already planted. They could also work to plant ¨hortilizas¨ that are in danger of extinction in addition to creating new terraces. WWOOFers could also help with the implementation of an irrigation system. It is hoped that WWOOFers could also help by building small greenhouses on the farm property. Also needed is help building compost piles and assistance in methods of controlling pests. Of course there is the need for help in harvesting when the time comes. If the person is interested he or she can help care for the guinea pigs that are located near the farm as well.

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

5

Number of work days per week

5

Meals

3 meals a day with foods typical to the community like rice, potatoes, bananas, chicken, beans, and of course, fresh fruits and vegetables! There are several stores in the town in which the volunteer could purchase ice cream, soda, candy, and other items.

Lodging

The WWOOFers would live and eat with the family of the owner of the farm. There is a large room in the home in which the WWOOFers could stay. There is only one room but it is large enough for 2 people. There is a separate bathroom which the volunteers could exclusively use.

Description

The farm is 4 hectares and is planted with fruit trees (avocadoes, lemon, mandarin, guava, orange, strawberry, banana, guyava Hawaiiana), vegetables (lettuce, tomato, carrot, peas, Chinese potato, beet, yucca, cabbage, corn, bean), medicinal plants (oregano, tipo, mint, lemon grass, rosemary), and pasture (alfalfa, king grass, pasto miel). There are also captive guinea pigs located near the farm. The farm is located on a slope and it set up with terraces. For the next 2 years there will be Peace Corps volunteers living and working in the community as well with whom the volunteers can speak English. The rest of the community speaks Spanish but is very understanding and open to foreigners.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0110

Member since

09/08/10

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Lunch and dinner will be provided daily by a local mother who lives on the property with her husband, who serves as a 24-hour guard and groundskeeper. Granola, eggs, and other breakfast foods are available in the volunteer house for self-service.

Lodging

newly renovated home for volunteers, with the capacity for six people (single and bunk beds), including a live-in volunteer coordinator. The house has indoor cold showers, and well maintained composting toilets.

Description

installing nurseries in which to cultivate our main organic fair-trade product, Guayusa. Runa's primary activity is developing an international organic Fair Trade market for a shade-grown Amazonian plant called guayusa (pronounced “why-you-sa”). A native tea, guayusa is a naturally caffeinated holly leaf from the Ecuadorian Amazon that indigenous Kichwa and Shuar communities have consumed for thousands of years as an integral part of their cultural heritage. The farm has large nurseries for guayusa cuttings and propogation, experimental chagras (traditional agorforestry plots), and nurseries for other endangered forestry species that will be planted beside guayusa. The center serves as a distribution and reception point as well as research center for our network of guayusa farmers. Volunteers will work primarily in our diverse nurseries of organically managed tree and fruit species, and assist our technicians and engineers in the creation and maintenance of organic agroforestry plots. All volunteers also partner with our field technicians to visit individual family farms, participate in cultural exchange events and guayusa tea ceremonies, and have the opportunity to develop their own research projects.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU011

Member since

 

Location

On a mountainside, 6km east and 700m above Vilcabamba

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

Projects Include building earthen structures, making and planting gardens, bees, etc., generally experimenting with appropriate and ultra-resourceful technologies and techniques. All WWOOFers are expected to participate with maintenance and development of the farm, but they can choose their own hours, daily tasks, and/or projects, through respectful concensus within the communit

Requirements

Looking for people interested in working and learning, not travelling cheaply. Help is greatly appreciated!

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

A community of transients, working together to patiently transform 10ha of degraded mountainside into a sustainable and diverse farm and outreach center. We currently have a small adobe cabin with kitchen, a dormitory, a couple bedroom cabins, composting toilet, tent sites. A horse, donkeys, goats, cats, a dog, and a chicken tractor. Gardens are being developed and trees are mere seedlings.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0109

Member since

09/08/10

Location

 

Type of Farm

Family

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

we will share all food, bbq and drinks with you!

Lodging

you will be a familymember. we are 4 incl. our two daughters. we have a cat, a hamster and two dogs, and brand new - a lama. we will give you a decent matress (we don¡t have beds either) in your own bedroom, a bathroom with hot water

Description

We are building up right now: we will grow fruites and veggies and have some animals like chicken, lama and sheep.We will have to start at the scratch: we need to plant some trees, we need to build a fence, we need to make a field, we will have to do some work on the house!WE WILL START SOMETHING NEW AND NICE

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0108

Member since

09/08/10

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

Cacao ¨(chocolate), Mandarines, Mangos, Guanava, Avacado, Many trees of different fruits native to Ecuador, Plantain trees, Yuca, Cows, Horses, other animals.

Need Help With

They are expected to help plant and cultivate various organic plants and foods. We are looking to expland and cultivate more vegetables including peppers, corn, etc. The volunteer would help in the care of these plants.

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

6

Number of work days per week

5

Meals

 

Lodging

There are quarters on site with beds, a kitchen, bathrooms, electricity, running water, relax areas with hammocks and lots of room to go on hikes and outdoor sports.

Description

 

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0107

Member since

09/08/10

Location

at the junction of two rivers in the rainforested lowlands (600m.) of northwest Ecuador

Type of Farm

Family Farm

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Our mostly vegetarian meals feature farm produce, including tempeh, fruits, and chocolate.

Lodging

Besides the main house there is a cabin with living and sleeping space.

Description

Family farm at the junction of two rivers in the rainforested lowlands (600m.) of northwest Ecuador. Around half of our 32 hectares is primary tropical humid forest (with larger adjacent areas also under our care), and a richly diverse flora and fauna. Remaining acreage is in second-growth forest and croplands, including over 500 species of tropical fruits. We practice sustainable agriculture techniques such as cover crops, alley cropping, compost and selective regeneration. There are orchards and a nursery, a vegetable garden, other subsistence crops, ornamental and medicinal plantings. Good drinking water comes from a nearby spring, and 120-volt electricity from our small hydro generator. The Poza, a world-class natural pool, is just 3 minutes away. We are a couple in our 60’s, farming in South America since 1974, also active in conservation and local community activities. We like this isolated, independent, self-sufficient lifestyle. Reading, writing, arts and crafts are our main freetime activities. Cost is $300 per month.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0106

Member since

09/08/10

Location

Galapagos Islands

Type of Farm

Private

Main Crops

Fruit and Vegetables

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Cook for themselves using produce from farm and supplies we will bring up from town (rice, oil, gas etc)

Lodging

Small house: Kitchen/Dining area, 2 bedrooms, bathroom. Has water tanks and electricity (110V)

Description

Small private farm on the side of Sierra Negra Volcano (second largest crater in world) on Isabela Island in Galapagos. Farm owned by Englishman who requires fresh organic produce for his small hotel located on the beach about 30mins from farm. Owner has pick up truck and will be in weekly contact with supply and produce runs

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0105

Member since

09/08/10

Location

Loja Province

Type of Farm

Small Family

Main Crops

changing to Jatropha

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Depends on how many workers here at one time. I have found most people prefer to cook for themselves which is fine as long they leave the kitchens immaculate

Lodging

One deluxe apartment completely furnished with stove, refrigerator, double bed ( room for a couple of single cots to 2 bedrooms ( share bath in main house)

Description

We are getting ready to remove our old Mandarin trees that have been severely stressed by the drought and will be repacing them with Jatropha. It will be hard work digging out the old the so we are waiting for the rainy season to start at the end of December when the earth will hopefully be much softer.We are located close to the village of Vilcabamba in the Valley of Longevity and the area has great hiking and horseback riding opportunities. Explore the cloudforest etc.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0104

Member since

09/08/10

Location

In the jungle across the Rio Pastaza from the village of SanFrancisco

Type of Farm

private land trying to return it to its natural state

Main Crops

Plants & trees natural to this area

Need Help With

The work will require someone with knowledge of land clearing, & cutting.

Requirements

his is my private home & land. I'm trying to return it to its natural vegetation, but need to clear all the weeds & bad plants in order for the trees to grow healthy.

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

I can cook for the volunteers or they can use the kitchen themselves. I do eat a lot of vegetarian food, but can cook all types.

Lodging

I have a 3 story log & river rock home that can sleep 6 to 8 people in the 2nd & 3rd story of my home. Nice hot water shower, gas stove, generator.

Description

his is my private home & land. I'm trying to return it to its natural vegetation, but need to clear all the weeds & bad plants in order for the trees to grow healthy. My property is a 45 min. ¨walk-in¨ location from the main road between Banos & Puyo. A beautiful area to explore!

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0103

Member since

 

Location

Salasaca, Tungurahua, Ecuador

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

fruit trees, cabbage, tomatoes, brocoli, greens, garlic, pepers, squash, zuchini, herbs, beans, corn, potatoes, carrots

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Breakfast (oatmeal) is provided Monday to Friday at 6:30 am. There is a cook at the school who provides lunch to students and volunteers. If you are working at the garden at the house you cook your own meal with communal food. Dinner is cooked and eaten collectivly Monday to Friday by rotating volunteers. Weekends people cook for themselves. We ask for a $10 per week donation (if possible). This money goes towards housing expenses (water/electricity/rent) and communal food (as the house garden is new it does not provide enough food currently for volunteers). All meals are vegetarian and veganism can be accomodated.

Lodging

Volunteers live in a shared house with access to hot water. Most rooms are dormitory style and we try to provide couples with private rooms when possible. Bedding is provided. Most volunteers do weekend excursions. Any length of stay is welcome.

Description

We are looking for people who are interested in farmining and sustainability to aid in our project. The project is a bilingual (Quechua/Spanish) Indigenous school near Salasaca, Ecuador (30 min from Ambato). The school has a garden to feed the students. There is also a garden at the house to feed volunteers of the project. We are looking for people to help manage these ever expanding gardens. Currently we have two vegetable gardens (one at the house and one at the school), a newly planted fruit tree orchid, and composting toilets and a compost system. We need people to assist in working in these gardens (weeding, planting, cultivatnig seeds, harvesting, watering, composting). We hope to start a farm soon and currently have one sheep. There are also some construction opportunities as new projects are proposed. Volunteers are free to bring their own ideas and help materialize them.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0102

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

7

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

We'll give you good vegetarian food 3 times a day...(please do not bring any meat, fish or eggs)

Lodging

We have just invested in new more comfortable accomodation for the volunteers and have had to hire more staff... therefore the monthly donation for volunteers will be $10 a day, $70 a week and $300 a month. We have two large rooms for volunteers situated in the main cabin above the eating area, one for male and the other for female volunteers... They have a beautiful views and a lounge area with space for yoga. On the first floor we have nice dry toilets and a shower for the volunteers. bring a sleeping bag and roll mat if you have one.

Description

If you want a jungle experience (getting to know lots of strange insects, swimming in streams, swinging through the trees on vines and some tough but interesting voluntary work) then this is the place you've been looking for...Our volunteering program includes...permaculturebuilding more native thatched roof cabins for volunteerscompostingweedingchocolate makingdjembe drum making and playingyoga every morninglearning to speak kichwavegetarian cookingteaching englishand lots of other interesting stuff....We are currently planting and looking after the following.... Pineapples, Bananas, Plantain, Papaya, Jungle Potato, Tangerines, Lemons, Malanga, Sugar Cane, Chonta, Medicinal plants from the Amazon. We are also reforesting the reserve with trees from the Amazon.Unfortunately we don't have enough money to buy food for everyone and we aren't self sustainable yet, that's why we need your help on the economic side of things. If you would like to give an extra donation to help buy surrounding land to protect the animals from hunters it'll be more than welcome too. Please bring a sleeping bag and roll mat if you have one.We kindly ask everyone to refrain from smoking, drugs and getting angry throughout their stay... this a place to get away from all of that boring stuff....

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0101

Member since

 

Location

Bolìvar Province, San Miguel Town, Loma de Tumbuco

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

About our activities there`s a lot to do about agriculture and wood planting also fixing fences, cooking, cleaning by choice and so much more!

Requirements

The requeriments we would ask for to the people coming here are, basically, good relation with children as we have four in the house (peacfull not violent or stressed behaviour, happiness and spiritual light) and the big wish of sharing all these activities , looking for a better future in harmony with Nature.

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

The meals will be served colectively to keep the communitary spirit and we prefer vegetarian food, including fresh and organic milk and eggs provided by our neighbours but we are respectfull with other`s people choices. We don`t have any problem to eat or to have somebody eating meat , chicken or fish. We usually have a lot of fresh fruits to prepare the "Day`s beverage" for every body and we`re open to accept suggestions

Lodging

about our communitary house, this is a very nice traditional building (made by soil as traditional andean architecture use to be), we have over five big rooms with beds and bed clothes. The commun areas as dinning room are also very traditional furnitured but really comfortable, clean and nice. We have light and water. There`s big and beatiful camping place for at least ten tents. and ther`s a little extra shelter in project.

Description

We are installed on the edge of the andean mountain range, right next to the "border" of the pacific coastal region from Ecuador, so we`re right in the middle of both wonderfull eco-sistems: the highlands and the tropical forest and the beach.We`re interested on organic agriculture and to plant native wood and spices, also on ecological features (solar light, eco gas, recycling posibilities, etc). We are also interested on working around Art, like music, plastic arts, theater, etc. And we would also want to create a community`s schedule (already working on) to take care of spiritual development throught practicing Yoga, meditation with andean and universal message, and many others disciplines that. people might suggest.We speak english, french, portuguesse and spanish(with a few ortographic mistakes, ja ja) so we would be able also to receive not spanish speakers and we could also planifie a schedule to teach them spanish if desired.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0100

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Two meals a day cooked by a local lady and the third meal a joint effort by all.Typical Ecuadorian food with a British/Mediterranean twist!

Lodging

Accommodation is in our family wooden house on stilts - we can accommodate couples and singles in beds with private areas. There is a shower and compost loo and the river for bathing, washing clothes etc

Description

Our farm is in Cloud Forest with awarm very humid climate in the winter and dry hot daytime with cold nights in the short summer season. The farm is fairly isolated and has no road - there is a 20 minute walk from where transport can arrive to. The terrain is very hilly and a lot of walking is involved around the farm crossing small rivers and needs a reasonable level of physical strength.Activities are numerous from animal husbandry (african sheep, bullocks, goats, pigs, chickens etc to sowing, transplanting and harvesting crops, building fencing and animal housing, path creating etc.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0099

Member since

 

Location

Playa Rosada

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

-Lodging: we will lodge them in the hostels rooms. They will have private bathrooms

Description

Angauel is a farm in front of the beach, above a cliff with a spectacular ocean view, with 12000 square meters. It is a farm where we (me and my wife) are building a permaculture project, with organic orchards and bioconstruction. We are just starting to construct our orchards where we are going to plant: vegetables, corn, agroforesty in general. We have few farm animals like chickens, ducks, turkeys, and lumbricultura (earth worms). And we want to have more animals to include them in the compost and humus production. We do have a small hostel for people who love nature.It is tropical beach weather with constant nice breeze (27o C all year around). It is near to Montañita and other beautiful beaches, Salinas and Guayaquil City.We expect from our woofers to bring good and green energy. We need workers for everything: attend the hostel, work in construction, gardening, bring good and new ideas to implement green and clean technologies (solar and eolic for example). We want help to raise funding for those projects too.One of our services in Angauel Farm is our chiropractic clinic, were we offer a space for natural health for tourists and our woofers (our volunteers get )We charge a very low fee for food and water (water must be bring with cistern trucks and it is expensive). This fee is negotiable with our woofers depending on the work they do.We have an extra bonus, we teach them Spanish for free and learn about permaculture!!!We have a new project (just starting) in the Ecuadorian mountains at the feet of the Andes. If you come to Angauel Farm, you will have the advantage (you will be first on list of guests) to be able to go there too and have a subtropical jungle mountains experience. The mountain farm has 80000 square feet, has two rivers and waterfalls. It is in Bucay (south of Ecuador), one of the most beautiful places in Ecuador!

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0098

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

Dairy

Main Crops

Milk

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Food allowances will be given in order to buy food of your choice in Cayambe and bring it to the house. Woofers are also invited to consume any products produced on the farm, such as milk, eggs, etc.

Lodging

Woofers would stay in the house at the farm which is 10 minutes away from the city of Cayambe (Ecuador) on public transportation. The house has 3 bedrooms, a bathroom, and a large kitchen, dinning room, and living room area. The house is furnished and includes a gas stove, warm water, and all linens.

Description

The beautiful farm expands 10 hectors, of which 6 are cow pastures and 4 are Eucaliptus forests. The pasture portion is mostly flat, and the forest is in a large include at the foot of Cayambe mountain. Due to its altitude the climate is relatively cold (about 17 degrees Celsius during the day, and slightly over freezing at night). The farm has 3 small building structures: a house, a milking station, and the farm keepers house. The farm has 9 adult milking cows, and 5 calf at the moment. The farm is run by a milkman and his family who live at the farm. They take care of the pastures, ensure health to all the cows, and manually milk the cows. At the moment the milk gets taken from the farm to a small cheese factory where they make milk bi-products. Woofer expectations1. The farm is presently running well and cow production is at an increase, yet with the excellent quality milk I would love to create my own artisinal by-products from the milk (cheese, yogurt, etc.) in order to increase milk value. In order to do this one must pay attention to local milk practices and the market available for milk by-products.2. There are gardens around the central house which need to be planted and maintained for aesthetic purposes. I would love more woofers/experiential tourism to use the house, and want to make the entrance beautiful. In order to to this one must pay attention to local plants, climate, water source, etc."

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0097

Member since

 

Location

1 hours and 10 minutes from Guayaquil. At the limit of the National Reserve Manglares Churute. Wild life and tropical agricultureThe farm is located at 12 km of a main road, no internet, no tv.

Type of Farm

ECO LODGE for retreats and a non profit organisation for conservation (Laval Dorion)Lodge:(spa, massage, pool, meditation retreats, yoga and relaxation) Organic and natural agriculture

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

Duty could be anywhere from shoveling, cutting (machete), carving, feeding, cleaning, painting, you have to be ready to do WHAT EVER!

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

7 days

Number of work hours per day

5

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Sometimes you will have to cook for yourself, sometimes not. Vegan, Veges and Carnivore welcome, gluten or other.. difficult to prepare meals, but ask us you never know.

Lodging

We offer the volunteer full boarding, bed if available or camping space.

Description

Monoloco is a ECO LODGE for retreats and a non profit organisation for conservation (Laval Dorion)Lodge:(spa, massage, pool, meditation retreats, yoga and relaxation) Organic and natural agriculture, hog, chicken, ducks, rice, corn, vegges and much more. We produce for our tourist guess that comes for retreats and relaxationNon profit organization: It has been 8 years now that the organization created Monoloco, we have help the community with construction of schools, clinics and small farmers orientation on organic farming. Our main objective is the conservation, but in order to get there we must also help in other subjects.Our neighbors are greats, and a local family will be there with you 24 hours. Jose the care keeper has lots of experience working with volunteer, does not speak a word of English, and speaks a fast Spanish, but his smile says a lot! His kids are wonderful and good helpers. Mini (chihuahua) and Pocha (pitbull) will be on your heels for some tender love. Paco the papagayo , Patojita and Piojo the Amazon Perrot, will make sure you wake up in the morning, not to forget the HOWLER monkeys that will be watching you and HOWLING to you DAYS AND NIGHTS!

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0096

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

 

Description

THE FARM IS AROUND 2 TO 3 HECTAREAS. WITH ALL SORTS OF GREENS, CARROTS, TOMATOES, ETC. IT ALSO COUNTS WITH A WIDE VARIETY OF FRUIT TREES ( AROUND 250 SPECIES). AND THE FINCA COUNTS WITH A GREEN HOUSE UNDER A DRIPPING SYSTEM.THE WWOOFERS WOULD STAY IN THE FINCA WITH AN SPECTACULAR VIEW OF THE VALLEY,AND STILL CLOSE TO TOWN.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0095

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Meals are eaten with the Kichwa family. All visitors cook in a group. We eat varied natural vegetarian foods grown here.

Lodging

The house has single bedrooms and you can camp

Description

We do agriculture, rural tourism, medicinal plants, environmental education. The house has no electricity but we have running water, showers, kitchen, living room, hammocks, garden and other.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0094

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

Non-commercial

Main Crops

Vegetables & fruits

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

4

Number of work days per week

5

Meals

We are a vegetarian/vegan community. Everybody takes turns in cooking and washing up and all meals are eaten together, except Sunday breakfast when people have a lie in.

Lodging

We have 2 mixed dormitories with beds & blankets and plenty of space for camping for those who have their own tents. In the near future we plan to build 2 yurts for extra sleeping space.

Description

We are a community trying to live sustainably through organic farming, composting toilets, grey water & waste recycling and also in future our own source of renewable energy. We have planted an orchard of young fruit trees and we are developing the farm to produce enough for our own consumption. Other community members include a few chickens, 2 dogs, a cat and some guinea pigs.There is meditation and yoga most days for those who want to take part. In future we plan to do yoga retreats, festivals, art in nature etc. We would also like to sell products from the farm such as jam etc.Volunteers are asked to work a minimum of 20 hours per week. In your free time there are many nearby places to visit.Our hope is that it is a place where people can live and work together, in harmony with the environment, and also have the space and time to develop their own skills, dreams and desires.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0093

Member since

 

Location

where the Andes meet the Amazon

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

Volunteers are welcome to help us both with our gardens and construction.

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Volunteers buy (and pick!) and cook food communally, and there is almost always a vegetarian option.

Lodging

Nestled in the jungle, a 15 minute walk from the nearest road, we have a large dormatory for volunteers, and a private room for couples or longer staying volunteers. There is no electricity on our land, but we do have hot showers!

Description

Merazonia is a wildlife refuge currently under construction, and while we are building and waiting to care for animals in need, we are also planting! We employ a variety of organic techniques for growing crops in the rainforest, where the only the topsoil quality is good. Volunteers are welcome to help us both with our gardens and construction. Mera is located where the Andes meet the Amazon, and offers a wide variety of outdoor activities (hiking, biking, rafting, swimming holes) for time off. Merazonia is run by a Dutch/American couple and an Ecuadorian, and while Spanish language skills are helpful to integrate into the community, there is always someone to help translate.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0092

Member since

 

Location

One hour away from Guayaquil

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

 

Requirements

 

Minimum Stay

 

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

 

Lodging

Two rooms, can host to 2 or 3 members, at the farm we have a little house with a place for meetings

Description

We can offer a place to stay for relax, now we are living between Guayaquil (4-5 days) and the farm (2 - 3 days). You only need one hour from Guayaquil to stay at the farm, we can teach how to make the real chocolate!!! and show the city too. You can decide if you want to sleep in Guayaquil with us or in the farm, the farm house have two rooms, one bath, kitchen and a big garden. We hope to see you and your friends someday.Paulo and Karen

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0091

Member since

 

Location

 

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

You are invited to help with and learn about conservation, farming and building.

Requirements

WWOOFers who are not experienced or who require supervision are not accepted at this time.

Minimum Stay

1 month

Number of work hours per day

 

Number of work days per week

 

Meals

Volunteers may receive a standard cooked meal or cook for themselves. eg vegetarian not always available on standarde menu.

Lodging

One spair room, dormitory, camping possible.

Description

We are in a unique area in Ecuador where the rainforest meets the sea. Apart from 7 hectares of permaculture orchard, it is a forest reserve and botanical garden. You are invited to help with and learn about conservation, farming and building. In your free time you can go to the uninhabited beach to swim, snorkel or fish, meet local people, go hiking in the rainforest and visit waterfalls, try exotic fruits or spot animals at night. In this land of diversity there is always something interesting to do.

 

Country

Ecuador

Host ID

ECU0090

Member since

 

Location

Farm is 3 kms from Yunguilla, small town 35 km North West of Quito.

Type of Farm

 

Main Crops

 

Need Help With

Activities include field work with flowers and vegetables, nursery, transplanting, harvesting, post-harvest activities, packing, working with animals, participating in starting new sub-projects, other. We are open to research projects of interest to volunteers; these should be coordinated with us beforehand.

Requirements

Volunteers should have a valid health insurance policy against accidents and illness, valid in Ecuador.

Minimum Stay

3 weeks

Number of work hours per day

6

Number of work days per week

6

Meals

Breakfast taken with family. Lunch Monday - Friday together withco-workers in the farm. Dinner with family. Weekends all meals with family. If vegetarian please advise beforehand.

Lodging

The farm has no housing available at the moment (will be built in the near future), so lodging is done in co-workers house in town nearby, 3 kms walking distance. A small amount ($ 7 - $ 9 per day) is to be paid to the host family in order to cover lodging and food expenses. Own room within house with family of 6; very austere conditions.

Description

Ours is a pioneering Bio-dynamic flower farm located in the cloud forest region of the Andean Mountains in Ecuador, in the western slopes of the Western Andes. Total area of the farm is 384 hectares. Hills abound. Altitude 2000 mts to 3100 mts There is 2.5 has planted with Calla Lilies; flower area will expand, to achieve 4 - 5 has at the end of 2008. Open field production all year round.

 

 

 

© 2014   Created by WWOOF Latin America Manager.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service